OS Cover Image

OS Cover Image

Wednesday, 11 February 2015

Revised Marvel Cinematic Universe Phase Three Release Schedule Announced

Source: Wallpaper Stock
With great Spider-power comes great financial responsibility, or something along those lines.
Hot on the heels of confirming the return of Spider-Man to their shared narrative universe, Marvel Studios additionally took to their official website yesterday to announce a series of revisions recently made to the release schedule for their third phase of superhero blockbusters.

Initially revealed to the world via a dedicated fan-laden event which took place last October, Marvel Cinematic Universe's Phase Three sub-franchise has until now been due to kick off with Captain America: Civil War in April 2016 before moving onto origins tales such as Doctor Strange and Captain Marvel as well as much-anticipated sequels including Guardians of the Galaxy 2 and Thor: Ragnarok. Yet much as the studio, who commenced work on building a decade-spanning continuity with just a single film in the form of Iron Man in 2008, would doubtless have loved to keep their original release schedule intact without any alterations, the imminent integration of everyone's favourite wall-crawler is sure to have countless ramifications for the manner in which the MCU operates from here on out, hence why the Phase Three line-up currently looks a little different.

It's worth bearing in mind that everything's subject to change, especially when series devotees still have two more instalments of Phase Two - Avengers: Age of Ultron and Ant-Man - to feverishly anticipate this year, but even so, barring any more colossal changes on the scale of Spider-Man's sudden re-integration into the cinematic version of Marvel's House of Ideas, this is a rough idea of what fans can expect from Marvel Studios between 2016 and 2019 (and regardless of the order, one thing's for certain - this should be one heck of an exhilarating ride for anyone with even a passing affinity for Detective Comics' most noteworthy rival):
  • CAPTAIN AMERICA: CIVIL WAR - April 29th, 2016
  • DOCTOR STRANGE - October 28th, 2016
  • GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY 2 - April 28th, 2017
  • THOR: RAGNAROK - November 3rd, 2017 (originally July 28th, 2017)
  • AVENGERS: INFINITY WAR PART 1 - May 4th, 2018
  • BLACK PANTHER - July 6th, 2018 (originally November 3rd, 2017)
  • CAPTAIN MARVEL - November 2nd, 2018 (originally July 6th, 2018)
  • AVENGERS: INFINITY WAR PART 2 - May 3rd, 2019
  • INHUMANS - July 12th, 2019 (originally October 26th, 2018)
As anyone who hasn't taken to residing underneath a sizeable boulder in recent months will surely know, however, next up on the Marvel Cinematic Universe release slate is Avengers: Age of Ultron, the UK release date of which is April 23rd. Feel free to join us in our prayers for the next three months or so to fly by faster than we can say "puny god" (and believe us, we've tried proclaiming that pair of words on numerous occasions already)...

No comments:

Post a Comment