OS Cover Image

OS Cover Image

Wednesday, 19 June 2013

Carnegie 2013 Award Winner Announced

Sally Gardener bests her competitors in the latest edition of the prestigious British teen fiction awards...
CILIP have today announced that Maggot Moon has claimed the Carnegie 2013 Award. Set up to recognize the best of British teenage fiction, the Carnegie Award has run for nearly an entire century, encompassing classic novels such as The Hobbit, Northern Lights and The Knife of Never Letting Go in its seventy-year history.

Sally Gardener's Maggot Moon takes place in a dystopian world plagued by corruption and dictatorships, drawing us into a compelling and diverse narrative entailing friendship, loyalty and a worryingly pervasive sense of darkness among it all. Although for this writer personally, Midwinterblood remains my favourite nominee on the Carnegie 2013 shortlist, Gardener's piece is nevertheless a worthy winner.

For all the latest news on the Carnegie 2014 shortlist nominees and other major British literature awards, keep it On-Screen in the weeks ahead!

No comments:

Post a Comment